You are here

EYFS and other frameworks for 0-5s

We will be adding information and updating this page

UK early years curricula

The Early Years Foundation Stage statutory framework 2017, England

This is statutory in England for early years provision for children from birth to 5.

The supporting guidance is Development Matters in the Early Years Foundation Stage

The Curriculum for Excellence, Scotland

The pre-birth to 3 age range is covered by Pre-Birth to Three: Positive Outcomes for Scotland’s Children and Families

Children from 3 to 6 are covered by the Curriculum for Excellence

The Foundation Phase, Wales

The Foundation Phase in Wales covers the 3-7 age group.  There is currently no framework for the birth to 3 age group.

Foundation phase: 2008 version Changes from 2022

The Foundation Stage, Northern Ireland

Preschool settings are covered by the Curricular Guidance for Pre-School Education

Children aged 4-6 in schooils are covered by the Foundation Stage curriculum

Non-UK early years curricula

Belonging, being and becoming, Australia

Te Whariki early childhood curriculum, New Zealand

A framework for a kindergarten curriculum in Singapore, Singapore